Reviews

New reviews of the hard cover:

NEW

May 5, 2014, by Lyda Whiting from Awareness magazine: Bimbambu, a bird with beautiful colorful feathers, lives in an enchanted forest. One day, he takes a walk in the chilly autumn air, and meets each of his friends in turn. Giraffe asks Bimbambu for some of his feathers so she can make a scarf to keep her neck warm all winter long. He happily gives her all of his red feathers. Bear wants to make a hat, so Bimbambu gives away all of his orange feathers. Before long, the bird realizes that he has given away every feather and will be cold himself. But his friends surprise him with gifts a scarf from Giraffe, a hat from Bear, and more until he is warm and cozy when the snow begins to fall.

As well as the lesson of giving unselfishly, this book is special for the unusual and delightful illustrations filling every page.

For ages 3 and up.” Source

 

Nov 25,2013, by Tomi Clark: “I was glad to share Bimbambu during the children’s story hour at our local library.  As soon as I finished reading, the children asked me to read it again and again I did.  What a wonderful story to share with others.”. Read More.

Nov 12, 2013, by Shiyra@San Fancisco Book Review:  “I loved Bimbabu when I saw the book the first time.  He had real feathers and then my mom explained that the person who drew the pictures used all kinds of art like real pictures, color and designs from a computer. After finding the real pictures while reading, the story became a game. I love the story; it is a story about a bird that gives away everything he had (his feathers) for his friends without thinking for a moment. When Bimbambu sees his friends are going to be cold, he gives away every last bit of feathers, and when winter comes and he is all cold, he is still happy about his friends whom he gave some warmth but he is a little scared about himself being able to find shelter. But to his surprise, all his friends made one extra pair of clothing for him from feathers he gave them and he was warm again. when I am afraid to share with friends sometimes now I remember Bimbabu and I remember that giving is fun for me and my friend and If I give with all my heart, I will have more fun than keeping things just to myself. I love my new friend, Bimbambu.”  Source.

October 23, 2013, by Ann:”Bimbambu is delightful tale retold in a children’s picture book by Ileana Katzenelson.  It is the story of Bimbambu, a beautiful bird with colorful feathers who generously gives of himself to all his friends without a second thought.  But when he is in need, while someone come to his rescue? This is a wonderful story based on the concept that what you give comes back to you.  It teaches values of unconditional love, empathy, compassion and true friendship in a simple way that readers of all ages will enjoy.” Read More.

October 21, 2013, by James :”Illustrated in a strikingly stylized, stained-glass style, Bimbambu is an original, delightful children’s picturebook about the value of giving. Bimbambu is a brightly colored bird who lives in a forest with many other animals. Winter is coming, so Bimbambu gives one animal after another some of his beautiful feathers to turn into warm garments. But what about poor, cold Bimbambu? Each of the animals Bimbambu has gifted presents him with a handmade article of clothing out of his own feathers! “Bimbambu felt lucky to have so many friends, and deep down inside he knew he had such good friends because he knew how to be a good friend too.” Gentle and compassionate,  Bimbambu is an excellent read-aloud picturebook for storytime or bedtime.” Source.

September 4, 2013, by Amanda: “I believe this story teaches kids that much can be attained through goodness and selflessness, and I believe this to be a crucial lesson in a world where children are growing up feeling so entitled, and where our society so much focuses on personal success, self esteem and overachievements that we sometimes forget our fellow human beings.” Read More

August 30,2013, by Wayne S. Walker:”This moving story beautifully illustrates the principle found in Scripture, “Cast your bread upon the waters, for you will find it after many days” (Ecclesiastes 11:1). As children read or hear how Bimbambu encounters true friends who help him, they will realize the value of being kind and giving to others. Author Ileana Katzenelson writes, “Bimbambu felt lucky to have so many friends, and deep down inside he knew he had such good friends because he knew how to be a good friend too.” The exciting colors of the bold illustrations will help keep kids’ attention. Soul Prints Press aims to educate and provide a moral lesson to children while entertaining them at the same time. They hit the nail on the head with Bimbambu!“. Read More

August 21, 2013, by Bekah: ”  It can be hard to teach kids to share. It can be especially hard to teach them to share for the sake of sharing, not because they have to or as a bargaining chip. We try to explain to our girls why they should share – because it’s part of our belief system, because they’d want other people to share with them, etc. What we’ve found as the best way to teach kids to share, though, is by example and practice. We work with our kids to share with each other, we make sure they see us share, we point out when we notice other kids sharing and how happy it makes the people around them feel. We also make sure to read books that talk about sharing.

One book we read recently is Bimbambu. This book has a fun title that my daughters loved to say. It also shows a great example of a bird sharing selflessly, giving away beautiful feathers when he’s asked – and even offering feathers to others before they ask him. But then winter comes, and he’s cold without his feathers. The book has a touching lesson, colorful illustrations, and a unique visual style. It’s available in print, and also for Kindle.”.  Source

August 18, 2013, by Dr. Wilda: “Bimbambu’s teaching begins with the cover. The reader,who is age three and above is treated to a beautiful soaring bird, who is happy. The cover is colorful and sure to attract attention.

The text is simple, yet packed with so much meaning and it flows in a way that makes it easy for children to understand.” Read More

 

August 15, 2013, by Conny Crisalli: “This unnumbered thirty-two page hardbound over-sized book is targeted toward children ages three and up. With no profanity or scary scenes, the book could be read as a bedtime story to promote the concept of compassion and giving to others. With full-color illustrations by Sean Brown and Yael Sela, mixed media of tiles, feathers, springs, photographs, cut-outs, and paints assemble into interesting, detailed pictures.”  Read More

August 11, 2013, by Lenore Webb: “Bimbambu is a bird that gives freely and lovingly. He gives because it is his nature to give in this way. He never thinks of the rewards he will reap, and in a surprising turn of events, he gets paid back in a grand way.  First I wish to know how she made the art pieces that represented each animal.  Beautiful work that I fell in love with.  Second her father Roman was wonderful in inspiring this story that teaches to give with an open heart.  For if you give you will receive.  A promise made to us from God and seen manifested over and over again in my own life.  This is a great book to read aloud with and later to have read to you as a bed time story as your lil one grows.  And remember to keep your heart open to love for it is all around us.” Source

 

The following are reviews of the e-book posted at amazon. In the comments below you can read our latest reviews.

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, September 21, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Bimbambu (Kindle Edition)

This is a very sweet, well writen little story. An example of how things work out when we give with faith. The art and color are very attractive. I definitely recommend it as an early read for children

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinaire, September 13, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Bimbambu (Kindle Edition)

Words cannot describe this short,
And sweet literary masterpiece.
Fantastic!
We should all learn from bimbambu.
Look forward to more works from this great author.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, September 6, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Bimbambu (Kindle Edition)

The story is great and the artwork absolutely beautiful. A good short read for a family. Sharing and caring is what it all about. What comes around goes around. Enjoy!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids!, August 15, 2012
This review is from: Bimbambu (Kindle Edition)

My kids love the exciting colors and touching story of Bimbambu! And I love that I have the opportunity to teach them how to be kind and giving to others in a fun and entertaining way.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book tells a beautiful story, August 14, 2012
This review is from: Bimbambu (Kindle Edition)

The artfully done colorful pages of Bimbambu bring to life a story about kindness that will inspire readers of all ages.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True example, August 10, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Bimbambu (Kindle Edition)

This phenomenal work is a great
Example for anyone of any age.
If we could all learn the lesson of
Kindness that bimbambu teaches,
We would live in a better world full
Of peace, love and endless potential for all. I hope it gets translated to many
More languages. BRAVO!!!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Sweet !!!, August 9, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Bimbambu (Kindle Edition)

I just bought Bimbambu and already read it ! I am so eager to share the story with my nieces !!! This is an original and a sweet story ! I love the “simplicity” of the story telling that made me want to know what is going to happen next ! It is a great lesson about sharing and receiving back… And I personally love stories with animals 🙂 so I will want more of Bimbambu !. Mostly, I can recognize it is a great story for bed time (or any other time actually) that you can tell in 15 mn or 45mn… I will tell more about the feedback from my nieces soon…

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, Heart Warming Message, August 9, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Bimbambu (Kindle Edition)

I love the art work in this book. The story is easy to read and has a great message about unconditional giving. This book is a great addition to any library for kids 2 to 92.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A jewel!, August 9, 2012
This review is from: Bimbambu (Kindle Edition)

Bimbambu is the rare childrens’ book that teaches a profound moral lesson without lecturing, that speaks to the heart while pleasing the eye. A tale that you will find yourself reading and re-reading to your children for years to come!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

One thought on “Reviews”

  1. Bimbambu is a short, sweet, and wonderfully colorful book that keeps the children entertained and wanting to read more. The moral of the story is good and I would recommend it to any parent with young children to teach their kids. Bimbambu is a story that children will want to hear every night.

Leave a Reply